Lekrofon releases

Vilnes release the album Back To the Start

Back To The Start is the first album from the Norwegian singer and songsmith VILNES. The Single A Million Smiles released in January was picked up by German radio stations like 917XFM, MDR Kultur, Bremen Zwei and recommended by Deutchlandfunk Kultur.

Vilnes - Back To The Start. Album art.
Vilnes – Back to The Start.
  • Title: Back To The Start | Release date: 11. June 2021
  • Links to album and services.
  • Radio stations and podcasts: Please take contact, and subscribe to the newsletter to get press releases with links to files.

Back To The Start

Back To The Start is a short but epic album! It takes the listener on a bold journey of songwriting and state of the art singing. Vilnes does not stick to a formula, but leaves a signature on his songs. He is constantly writing new songs! His main influences are from the legacy of pop, rock and soul music. The album opens with a bare naked vocal and piano track called Desire. A bold move. Before the title track Back To The Start hits you in all its glory, you have enjoyed uptempo funky stuff, some heavy americana and the mind blowing radio friendly songs like the single A Million Smiles and Show Me The Love.

Track list

  1. Desire 4:22
  2. A Million Smiles 3:35
  3. Gabriella 3:15
  4. Hey There 4:33
  5. Show Me The Love 4:31
  6. Back To The Start 3:21
Vilnes - Back To The Start. Album art.
Album art

All songs written by Eivind Vilnes. Recorded and mixed by Yngve L. Sætre. Desire was recorded and mixed by Daniel Birkeland. Released by Lekrofon Records. Distributed by The Orchard.

Eivind Vilnes: Vocals, guitar and piano. Felix N. Rudi: Drums and percussion. Jone Kuven: Bass. Ella Helén Bukkøy: Violin and backing vocals. Einaras Baltrimas: Saxophon. Miriam Tumyr: backing vocals


Back To The Start is available on all major streaming services like Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer, Tidal and Qobuz.

A Million Smiles is also available on YouTube.

Quotes and reviews

  • Vilnes is turning out to be an insider tip for this year. – Soundkartell (DE)
  • – Show Me The Love: A song that makes you want more Vilnes music.”- Musicspots (DE)
  • – Sounds & Books wishes you a lot of fun with the soul-soaked pop-rock sound of “Show Me The Love” – Sounds & Books. (DE)
  • Jan Kubon of MDR Kultur hosted an acoustic session with Vilnes. Listen to the stream at MDR Kultur. 24 minutes (DE)
  • – this good song makes us indeed smile with it’s positivity and good vibe. We Love Nordic (DE)
  • Vilnes is awesome, another great song! Alan Wayne, Indie Star Radio, LA,USA | Podcast: Spreaker | IHeart | Spotify | AppleMusic |
  • Vilnes wunderschöne Nummer A Million Smiles. La Trash  (DE)
  • A Million Smiles is featured on Indilista by Spotify (NO)